Tag Archives: EEC

Just to put Brexit in context – Britain eschewed membership of the European Economic Community which was established by the Treaty of Rome in 1957, but changed its mind in the early 1960s, only to be rebuffed by Charles de Gaulle. The EEC then consisted of six member states – Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, West Germany and the Netherlands. Britain signed an accession treaty in 1972. Securing Britain’s entry in 1973 was regarded by the former Prime Minister, Sir Edward Heath, as his greatest achievement. Read More